HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: Timmy Joe PC Tech

MSI AMD RX 580 8gb Review in 2018 (the most pointless review possible)

581 ratings | 22652 views
If you could get a Radeon RX 580 8gb for a good price what could it manage to do in 2018? I think these might flood the market eventually and when they do will it be a good buy? I do some benchmarks and check out mining hash rate... because that's what ya do with a rx 580 :"( Consider Supporting Me On Patreon? https://www.patreon.com/timmyjoe Parts in this episode: RX 580 (ha) http://amzn.to/2CfL5Zy xfx version http://amzn.to/2nUf1X4 Nitro Version http://amzn.to/2H8N5GN Shopping on Amazon? Use these links and it supports the channel: https://www.amazon.com/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&linkCode=ur2&tag=timmyjoe-20 Enermax 240mm AIO: http://amzn.to/2wEm2fU Vivo V08 Case On My Set: http://amzn.to/2wEad9x FSP 750W PSU: http://amzn.to/2wtPU3I Thermaltake View 31: http://amzn.to/2xNGG2f My Threadripper Mobo: http://amzn.to/2wDQvuG Ballistix Elite Ram Is AWESOME: http://amzn.to/2wuVGly My Ryzen 7 CPU and Mobo ASRock AB 350 Pro4: http://amzn.to/2rdtOL4 Ryzen 1700 http://amzn.to/2mJhYem Ryzen 1700x http://amzn.to/2nFrNsU I have a website: http://www.timmyjoe.com I have an Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/watchtimmyjoe/ I have a Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/watchtimmyjoe I have a facebook: who cares about facebook... - Intro is Instrumental produced by Chuki, the best beats on youtube! http://www.youtube.com/user/CHUKImusic (Other music provided by the Epidemic Sound Library...)
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (231)
Gaurav Das (9 months ago)
A very great time to make a video about a card which is basically a mythical card
Footender (8 months ago)
I have that exact card, ordered it day one of release from newegg.ca at MSRP because I needed to upgrade from my Sapphire 7850 but I've been playing a lot of open world games and I wanted to use the CemU emulator for Zelda BotW and both of those just flat out work better on a GTX 1060 so, its a great card for the MSRP but I realize now a GTX 1060 would have served me better haha!
Anthony Pierre (9 months ago)
The unicorn alone is worth the cost!
Sactown Dizzle (9 months ago)
Jesse Crawford hell I'll trade my two 580s for a 1080 ti
Jesse Crawford (9 months ago)
If you buy the bundle you get an RX580 and a unicorn.
Sactown Dizzle (9 months ago)
damn ive had to in crossfire for almost a year of the xfx hard swap i might sell the i actually traded a xbox one for one of the cards
dj manix (3 days ago)
I just got one for £170 - :D
BongSlug (14 days ago)
I purchased this card a week ago in Australia for $289 ($209 US) finally!
Timmy Joe PC Tech (13 days ago)
I purchased that same card from my friend for 240 CAD, he mined with it and 14 others for about 8 months at a loss and by the time he started selling them people wouldn't buy them for any more than $280 CAD when he originally paid close to $500!!!! I want another!
JonelKingas (18 days ago)
its back to original!
g brown (23 days ago)
Nice that prices are down. Just bought one today for $130 Merican!
sixtyinsix (2 months ago)
So it's now September 12, 2018. Today Amazon is selling this card for $249. Is it worth it now for gaming?
Samu7574 (2 months ago)
Lol wtf I bought it on amazon at €220 (price went up since) https://www.amazon.it/SAPPHIRE-NITRO-Radeon-4GD5-GDDR5/dp/B0797XLR9Z/ref=asc_df_B0797XLR9Z/?tag=googshopit-21&linkCode=df0&hvadid=103288021019&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=5205320532026427724&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=20596&hvtargid=pla-614714005432&psc=1
CyberClu (2 months ago)
7 months later, this review is totally relevant now. With used prices for the 8GB version hovering around $150-200 USD.
Aiden McSherry (3 months ago)
I have a craigslist deal lined up to get one of these for $160 is that a good idea?
Jarad C (5 months ago)
I would never buy a GPU that was used for mining!
Ivelisse Franco (5 months ago)
Soyboy Alert !
Kyle Lantz (5 months ago)
Do a review on rx580 mk2 oc
Sajid Hasan (5 months ago)
Prices are down now...so the review is relevant now.
LeztGG (5 months ago)
I wanted to buy an RX580 4GB at msrp sad life this mining craze killed it
Daegan (6 months ago)
I bought my XFX Rx 480 4gb back in 2016 for like $230 and I should’ve sold it while the demand was crazy. But I’m still satisfied with it so I guess I’ll use its little 4gb heart out
visualpossibilities (6 months ago)
selling for about $365 now
Luke Labone (6 months ago)
That music is the best
ruptys donut (6 months ago)
Its 350 here lol
giggy many (6 months ago)
580 is now 350 shweet
Matthew Renna (7 months ago)
I'm watching this with my pc that has an RX 580 8gb right now....I think I'm one of the only people who has one.
maki jezakon (7 months ago)
i own a sapphire rx 580 8gb nitro+, overclocked, undervolted, thinking about going liquid, paired with 1600x @ 4ghz. payed 300 euro with import charges, was 250 on newegg.
Regilio Bouma (7 months ago)
im still stuck with my rx480 since the crypto is a bit low nobody buys it... could have sold it for 300€ but wanted 340€ now nobody ofr 300€ i don't really mind i payed 150€ only but still.. i want to sell. it lol
extendo for the chopper (7 months ago)
Fuck my dream of upgrading my 1050
stevin47 (7 months ago)
price gouging is illegal newegg msrp 229.00 and your sale price is over 700 .00 hmmmm
darkwaterblue (7 months ago)
Was so lucky with my 580 8GB, was a amazon misprice for £103 about 4 months ago.....
Wojciech Nowak (7 months ago)
I buyed mine in February 10 rx580 strix top for 450$ after 4 days price go to 565$ so thinking that I overpayed I'm lucky today price in Poland is 563$ for RX580 STRIX TOP. My old r9 280x now can rest in peace
elink1 (7 months ago)
So.. I should have been able to buy one second hand for under £100... instead I have to buy a second hand GTX 970 for £195. Sort it out AMD and Nvidia. At least they actually release mining cards, that actually addresses the supply issue. They just have to up supply. Thing is there are about 10 manufacturers for each brand, why can't they meet demand? Are they limited by how many they're contracted to produce? If it was a free market, they'd just make more until supply met demand, 10 manufacturers is easily enough for a competitive market.. as long as they operate freely..
llJeezusll (7 months ago)
Just do some searching and youll find some decent GPUs. There's so many GTX 970s out there for $200-250 and its performance is close and in some games higher than an RX 480 8GB. A month ago I also found a person selling plenty of refurbished or used gtx 1060s and RX 580s for $280-350 Id say thats pretty decent. Also found 2 GTX 980tis for $500. Pretty much a GTX 1070.
ツClinxeo (7 months ago)
Haha bishes I got an rx580 lolololol
Syukri R.Robert (8 months ago)
Managed to snatch one on 219 dollar because the shop thought rx580 is not “a hot seller”. One of the best gpu ive owned. Check back rx to crossfire, RIP the price goes triple
Valupack Gaming (8 months ago)
You are the scum of the earth! I almost was going to like your channel but even the simple fact that you did "mine" makes you the lowest of the low in my mind!
notquiteordinary (8 months ago)
I understand you gotta hit the 10 min mark but man you fill your videos with a lot of nonsense before getting to the point of the video
Larsson (8 months ago)
all prices are BS
Josh Harvey (8 months ago)
I HAVE AN RX 580 I got it at MSRP between mining booms lmao
Karen Lewis (8 months ago)
i can get rx580s for 269 at the bestbuy up the street and 1080tis for 629 so some of the more insane prices i have yet to see here in south caolina
SeedMayers (8 months ago)
When miners start to sell these cards dont buy. These cards where never made for running 24-7 at 100%. They are burned down and will brake wery fast. In fact all GPU's used for mining are burned to the ground. Just think about it for a second. These GPUs where running for months or years at 100% day and night under who knows what conditions. I wouldent touch them even if they cost 20$.
based_will (8 months ago)
Snagged one at Microcenter in January for 300 bucks and it chews up and spits out all my Vulkan games, even at 4k it will run Doom at 55fps. Overwatch locks at 60fps on 4k as well
WaFfLeFuR (8 months ago)
i actually have this card... the red dragon flavor. never mined but got a good deal on it. i mainly want to do VR and my 7950 hd was not enough
*StyEs (8 months ago)
I need a help or opinion which is better the GTX 1060 6GB or the AMD RX 580 of 8 GB, which processor would have to buy me that is good and a source to satisfy these 2 more the components of the pc I have an AMD RX 460 4GB with an AMD FX 8320 3.2 GH Would it be worth changing?
*StyEs (8 months ago)
Timmy Joe PC Tech I do not know much about video cards, so I ask you, would you recommend me the ryzen? I want to play all the games in high quality if possible and with good fps I'm going to buy a 144hz monitor so I say, you have one more subscriber of Argentina: D
Timmy Joe PC Tech (8 months ago)
Ryzen 5 1600 and a which ever GPU is cheaper / do you want to use free sync? Its in a lot of monitors these days. Rx 580 might maintain its value better ?
GrayScale (8 months ago)
I got mine for MSRP
18i (8 months ago)
cant wait till the day the used market will be flooded with all these cards for dirt cheap. it'll happen sooner or later xD
Joshua Martin (8 months ago)
Clickbait Thumbnail
willplaysgames1993 (8 months ago)
i bought a gaming pc with a ... ryzen 5 1400 (overclocked to 3.7Ghz) 8Gb ddr4 2400 Mhz rx 560 2gb (overclocked to 1275 Mhz core 1800 Mhz memory) 1TB 7200 RPM hard drive .... for $539 on amazon actually it's the dell 5675 gaming desktop
Damian Smith (8 months ago)
Got me a refurbed dell with a ryzen 5 and rx 580 for cheaper than just the rx 580.
Chris Kalkman (8 months ago)
Well, I guess I'm stuck with my 1050 Ti FTW for a little bit longer. I actually bought it last April, so it's not even a year old yet. Great card. I couldn't recommend it enough for 1080p budget builds.
Auw aWWw (8 months ago)
horrible you aRE
Godot (6 months ago)
Hold up are you about to suck a dick in your profile picture? I don't think you can judge Timmy for doing a little mining with a pfp like that lmao
Richard S (8 months ago)
What's the name of the song that plays during the benchmarks?
Tyler Leyden (8 months ago)
2:50 - 3:05 lmao xDD
kiaas (8 months ago)
I picked up a 350 dollar XFX RX 580 8GB Crimson, over 1400mhz core stock, goes up to about 1500 with the voltage upped but it gets warmer than I'd like to see when not undervolted, and memory has its timings strapped so only goes up to 2170 stable in games, and mining was the same all-the-way-up. Gets about 30.7MH/s in eth while dual mining with that. edit: Monero won't do well with it for some reason even with the strapped memory, only about 780H/s. my RX 480 gets 1050 H/s on monero with much lower OCs, and 29.7MH/s on eth. I have it and the 580 in a crossfire setup that's mining most of the time.
Jeff Smith (8 months ago)
DEFINITELY NOT UPGRADING. Gtx 1080 will have to keep me going for years now, unless we see better prices next year. And by that I mean cards like the 1080TI for 500, better cards for 700 ect
Tom Brown (8 months ago)
Is an rx 580 8gb gpu good for gaming for 350 pounds? Found one for 350 pounds here in the UK. Not interested in mining only gaming. Cheers!
Stevey TeeVee (8 months ago)
Lenovo has a RX 570/Ryzen 1400 prebuilt for $749 on their website. And I think I posted a $799 RX 580 build somewhere.
Stop mining please thanks
minecraftvideo2547 (8 months ago)
well GPU mining worked out for me my old 280x was basically worthless last year which made me decide not to sell, but then can along the miners buying all the cards and now I was able to sell it for way above what it is worth
minecraftvideo2547 (8 months ago)
I got my 480 to 1412mhz with fans at 100%. had to do that because for some reason it crashes at 62c at that speed.
Top Cat (8 months ago)
minecraftvideo2547 i smell bullshit
kermo (8 months ago)
never quit mining
Joe Bell (8 months ago)
It's sad . Minners may be what officially kills pc gaming . I honestly would be all for AMD and or Nvidia doing something hardware wise on the cards to disable minning and make a card that does mine but charge a crap ton more money for it . That would fix the issue . I have a couple R9 390X cards and I'm thinking of selling them for more then what I bought them for new . Lol that's sad but might as well make money off of these sorry minners while I can . The 390x is a bit better at minning to . Thanks minners for killing pc gaming . Hopefully all the minning shit will crash and burn soon . If you think about it the only thing Bitcoin is used for is Illigal purchases off the darknet such as drugs guns . It's hardly accepted anywhere on the clearnet . I use to be all for crypto currency ,but not anymore .
RISEUP Gamer (8 months ago)
Joe Bell PC gaming is not going away, NEVER GOING AWAY. PC gaming is whole where we can't buy PC components just yet until the mining craze goes down. Calm down, and just wait :)
comptoncity2 (8 months ago)
What a fucking joke... that’s what you are all inflating the gpu market for? Pennies? Lmao
bob jones (8 months ago)
you gotta read and learn with crypto and mining,XMR mining with your cpu u have are good,your amd cards ETH/it alts,Zcash/it alts ,NV cards Zcash or just go download nice hash and let it go ,watch your temps and lower you clocks,tdp and oc the memory.NV cards on eth like the 1060's u can -200 core tdp 50%~ and oc your memory
Eric Witte (9 months ago)
If I had just held the tiny bit I did in 2013 that much was valued $120k in December :( I paid $3000 for a cell phone case!!! I cashed out about $2500 then and will stop about $800 now.
Rameez Shamoun (9 months ago)
Timmy Joe is doing a video on budget 600$ PC for rendering arch viz. Preferably used ..,.... Please can you? :-/
CK S (9 months ago)
I dont understand why spend USD 729 to buy RX 580 8G to mine crypto ? You can invest that sum of money directly by buying crypto in an exchange . The only reason I think is using credit card to buy RX580 as you know banks in US has banned credit card on buying crypto .
Karamali Numberone (9 months ago)
Where is 2400G extream gpu overclock man ? Every body just oc the cpu! Plase oc gpu extreamly like you do on that i7 in canada winter Push gpu more than sun of a tech plase We are waiting
Na Son (9 months ago)
if anyone is looking to buy a rx 480 8gb for cheap leave your email, asking for $110 for mine. also selling some other parts cheap
Toto Geenen (9 months ago)
0:42 when a friend of mine would say that he would no longer be a friend of mine
ashwin koshti (9 months ago)
Gone are the days when videos were about $500 $700 build, now its about, $700 Graphic cards only
xprS Z (9 months ago)
Microcenter is selling MSI armor RX 580 8GBs for $379 for about a week now
Rueagon Vyceratops (9 months ago)
I hope so to . because i'd love to get me a better graphics card than the 1050ti i have now , for my 1080p gaming. and the rx 580 should do much better than the 1050 ti i have in my system now.
Thomas Egan (9 months ago)
The bios hacks originally were to increase the performance for overclocking. Maybe an idea for a video is a comparison of a polaris gpu with and without memory straps.
Take Hiro LOL (9 months ago)
Well US YouTubers, you already know our pain, our daily reality outside the US...overpriced technology...
Philip Wilson (9 months ago)
Challenge: listen to butt-hurt comments with a violin playing in the background.
Christopher Scott (9 months ago)
Meh, that card isn't even worth half that price tbh.
Chris H (9 months ago)
295x2 Timmy Joe, find one of these old gals
Puffin (9 months ago)
Can’t you mine bitcoins with something other than graphics cards like maybe CPU’s or RAM?
Julian Depaepe (9 months ago)
I have this for 300 euros
BroLuk83 (9 months ago)
Same
Robert Rhoads (9 months ago)
I love these types of videos, the “eventually people will be trying to give these away on Craigslist, what can you expect” keep up the good content.
MrKZdemos (9 months ago)
Timmy joe reviews your wife
Ryan Daniels (9 months ago)
Did you say you were done with mining? I would keep going, prices seem low now but when bitcoin gets another bull run all altcoin will jump too. Could see double profit by end of 2018.
dahaproject3 (9 months ago)
better to buy gtx 1060
MBF MBF (9 months ago)
So these guys are buying up all the cards and are barely making there money back and Timmy I’m disappointed in you for mining bruh I was with you from the start of this channel smh wouldn’t of thought you would add to the problem 🤔
drifting1O1 (9 months ago)
im so glad i scored my XFX 8g rx480 in November of 2016 for just 239. if only i had bought a 16 g kit of ram at 3000mh instead of 2133mh would have made out like a complete bandit.
WhoWouldWantThisName (9 months ago)
The way you get one of these is by buying a prebuilt PC. I was going to build a rig, not for mining, back in November. Then the shit hit the fan and you couldn't get a card anywhere. So I ended up getting a Dell prebuilt with a Ryzen 1700 and an RX 580 8 GB, 16 GB system RAM, blah, blah, etc. for $899. I couldn't get an i5, R5, R3, hell even an i3 system for that cheap. I sure as hell couldn't build it for that, maybe twice that. Basically I got the whole thing for the price of the GPU and the CPU, maybe the mobo too, with everything else thrown in free. That includes Win 10 home 64 bit, keyboard and mouse, etc. I really wanted to build my own with hand picked parts but right now prebuilt is the only fiscally responsible way to go, IMO. Actually I'm still looking for a monitor to couple with this thing and I was shopping for a 144 hz 1080p, but after seeing these numbers I'm thinking maybe I should just get a 75 hz with higher resolution. I don't know how much this thing will ever utilize those higher refresh rates. Of course it could pay off if I eventually upgrade to a better card and/or CPU.
WhoWouldWantThisName (7 months ago)
+yurimodin That's what she said. Sorry but someone had to say it.
yurimodin (7 months ago)
once you go ultrawide you never go back :D
xDeedles (8 months ago)
WhoWouldWantThisName sic I was thinking about getting one too
WhoWouldWantThisName (8 months ago)
Hey thanks. I actually ended up getting a 1080p @ 144hz, the Acer XF270H, and I'm loving it.
xDeedles (8 months ago)
WhoWouldWantThisName how bout 1080p ultrawide 75 hz?
Kyle Anderson (9 months ago)
Jeez. Rx 580 msrp is lower then the price of a new 1050ti right now.
Frog - Tech - Tips (9 months ago)
Ye this card is so good but not for that price I hope this will be not standard as price need to go down
Fallout Floyd (9 months ago)
Pfffff I didn't want it anyways!
John Paul Bacon (9 months ago)
Nice video. If you had a RX-580 8gb you got last year for $249.99 + S/H ; would you consider selling it or hanging on to it?
Bagdadsky_Hornik (9 months ago)
gpu mining = retailers paradise. But in regards to memory OC, i would recomend to watch HWinfo for memory errors on AMD cards... pretty annoying when mining.
Arno Kalliokorpi (9 months ago)
First of all, Monero is not very profitable at the moment, check sites like whattomine.com where you can see that many coins with same technology are much more profitable. Also you should run two threads with lower intensities on that card to get the best possible h/s, flashing is also super easy with one click bios modder and given that many of these cards have dual bios its practically no risk operation. Regarding clockspeeds you should set the core to around 1150-1200 and max out memory and then undervolt to get to hashrate/watt sweetspot
Bunnaroath Som (9 months ago)
I ordered 10 of rx 580 for 310 eachs last week
HoppsTech (9 months ago)
The title made the video pointless, but I'm bored so I guess I'll watch it.
Bo (9 months ago)
benchmark music was dope. and yea i could mine with my gaming card, but it's not worth the trouble imo.
Patrick Lang (9 months ago)
You are great fellow Canadian!
Adwaith Anil (9 months ago)
Timmy pls make video about DIFFERENT SLI auto
Jamie Carranza (9 months ago)
I remember when I thought paying 200 for my 4gb rx 470 instead of the advertised 170 was outrageous.... (It was right after Christmas last year)
Yura Trokhym (9 months ago)
When you flash bios on rx 580 , it will do even better in gaming not only in mining
lurk (7 months ago)
Yura Trokhym and die on you quicker because it’s been 🐝 Zzzin 24/7
halistine jenkins (9 months ago)
the msi gaming or gaming "X" series are the best 3rd party graphics cards available imho. nvidia or amd
England is my city (8 months ago)
halistine jenkins i don't like the aorus either, looks and feels cheap imo. asus strix is overpriced in my opinion, they don't offer the best cooler and the rgb isn't all that impressive. i've used gaming x cards in the past, my current one is a 1080ti gaming x trio. it's got the best cooler on the market (it's fucking huge) and i love the red lighting, which fits perfectly in my theme. also, it looks absolutely gorgeous, especially when mounted vertically. the only thing i hate about msi is their software, they have 1000 different programs and the lighting profiles don't always apply automatically without some software running.
Eric Witte (9 months ago)
My Gaming X 1080ti was my favorite style until I got a strix 1070ti. Both are really good.
halistine jenkins (9 months ago)
the Aourus feel extremely cheap imo. the only gpu's i've ever had fail were ASUS. i've never had a nitro but my many other sapphire cards were pretty good besides using cheap memory so i can't really comment on them.
Juho Petrell (9 months ago)
Well the cards aesthetic is your own opinion/personal preference, but performance wise facts talk for themselves.
halistine jenkins (9 months ago)
btw......nothing better than a Red & Black themed Intel build......hehehe
Orson C. Badger (9 months ago)
You should do a video on The New AMD apus.
Orson C. Badger (9 months ago)
Timmy Joe! I support you brother! Keep up the great videos!
Blaise Finnegan (9 months ago)
nice vid, I love your music picks.
PhilsComputerLab (9 months ago)
Man I remember that AMD presentation where he held the RX480 and announced it was $199...
5g24 (8 months ago)
Funny thing about the 480 and 580 the 4gb is a locked 8gb version and you can tap the bios and turn a 4gb into a 8gb.
LTDanno360 (9 months ago)
pricing is way out of control the makers dont care there stocks are through the roof right now
Take Hiro LOL (9 months ago)
PhilsComputerLab I was lucky...bought mine on December 2016. My RX 480 8 GB was $290 in my country which is not bad at all. I could not sell it since it was not enough to get a 1070. Selling it on eBay was also not an option as the shipping to send it to the US would be around $65. So I am still rocking my RX 480 8 GB...
jangelelcangry (9 months ago)
+ vespaman0 True.
jangelelcangry (9 months ago)
+Michael Summerlin There was a stock issue, brief but it was there.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.